## VIRGINIA SENATE REPUBLICAN CAUCUS



News Release

Sen. Thomas K. Norment, Jr. Senate Republican Leader

Sen. Ryan T. McDougle Caucus Chairman

Sen. Mark D. Obenshain Caucus Co-Chairman

Sen. William M. Stanley, Jr. Sen. Bryce E. Reeves Senate Republican Whips

Sen. Stephen D. Newman Senate Republican Leader Pro Tempore

Sen. John A. Cosgrove Sen. Bill R. DeSteph, Jr. Sen. Siobhan S. Dunnavant Sen. Emmett W. Hanger, Jr. Sen. Jennifer A. Kiggans Sen. Mark J. Peake Sen. Todd E. Pillion Sen. Frank M. Ruff, Jr. Sen. Richard H. Stuart Sen. David R. Suetterlein Sen. Jill Holtzman Vogel Contact: Jeff Ryer FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Phone: 757.713.5333 22 January 2021

## TRAVIS HACKWORTH WINS REPUBLICAN NOMINATION IN 38<sup>TH</sup> SENATORIAL DISTRICT

RICHMOND, VA, 22 JANUARY 2021: Travis Hackworth of Tazewell

County has won the Republican nomination for Virginia Senate in
the 38th District. Placing first in a six-candidate field,

Hackworth, who currently represents the Northwest District on the
Tazewell County Board of Supervisors, will be the Republican
nominee in the March 23 special election to fill the vacancy
caused by the passing of Senator A. Benton Chafin.

"Travis Hackworth is an outstanding nominee who will be a strong and effective voice for Southwest in the Senate of Virginia," said Senate Republican Leader Thomas K. Norment, Jr. (R-James City). "Our caucus is excited about Travis joining our ranks this spring.

"The untimely passing of Ben Chafin has been a tremendous loss for our caucus, for the Senate, for Southwest, and for Virginia. We are grateful to all six candidates who stepped forward to compete in today's contest, and to the members of and

~ more ~

TRAVIS HACKWORTH WINS REPUBLICAN NOMINATION IN 38TH SENATORIAL DISTRICT

22 January 2021 Page 2

volunteers for the 38th District Republican Committee who conducted this nomination process.

"Congratulations to Travis Hackworth for securing the Republican nomination. We take nothing for granted in this race, and Travis can count on the strong and enthusiastic support of every Republican senator as he campaigns to represent the people of Southwest. We look forward to welcoming Senator Hackworth to our ranks after he secures victory on March 23."

The 38th Senatorial District is comprised of Bland, Buchanan,
Dickenson, Pulaski, Russell, and Tazewell Counties, the Cities of Norton and
Radford, and portions of Montgomery, Smyth, and Wise Counties.

###